For me, today is the start of a new year.  It is the start of a new year not only because I turn 22 today, but also because it marks the beginning of my year of mission in South Sudan.  While most people do not see turning 22 as a big life event, this date has more significance to me than I could have ever imagined.

Over the last three weeks I was in New York for my program's orientation. One of the weeks we attended cultural training at Mount Manresa in Staten Island, NY (we fittingly arrived on July 31, the feast of St. Ignatius).  I was especially excited to go to this Jesuit Retreat House because I knew it would remind me of my last eight years of Jesuit education and of my faith journey which brought me here today.  On site there was a beautiful Chapel lined with stained glass windows of several Jesuit Saints.  On our first day we began with Morning Prayer, and I noticed the window of St. John Berchmans straight ahead upon entry. After seeing this window, I realized I knew nothing about him, despite the fact that he is the patron of my alma mater (St. John's Jesuit High School).

Once Morning Prayer was finished, I went back up to my room to read about St. John Berchmans. Much to my surprise, St. John Berchmans died from sickness at the age of 22, the same age I turn today. I was really drawn to this fact, not because he died at age 22, but rather that he lived holy enough in those 22 years to become a Saint. He used to say, "If I do not become a Saint when I am young, I shall never become one." St. John Berchmans did not become a Saint because he did anything extraordinary. His path to holiness was achieved by doing the ordinary with care and perfection.   He made kindness and piety part of his daily life, which is what I aspire to do during my year of mission.

In this 22nd year of my life, I can only hope to live my life the way St. John Berchmans did. In my time at orientation, I realized that I am not called to do the extraordinary while on mission, but rather to do the ordinary. I am called to be the Face of Christ to the children of Africa. I am called show them love, and more importantly let them know that they are loved. As Mother Teresa so perfectly put it, "We can do no great things, only small things with great love."

Kelly Kelly
8/19/2012 10:58:51 pm

God Bless you Tom! I remember the first time I met you when you were just 3 years old. I am so proud of you and the young man you have become! I look forward to reading about your trip for the next year. I am happy you have started this blog. Have a wonderful birthday today. Take care of yourself- Love Aunt Kelly

Reply
Uncle Dan
8/24/2012 02:47:12 pm

Tom, the "Saint Paul" Kellys will be praying for you this year. We're enjoying the blog! God Bless you and your work!

Reply
Uncle Bill
9/5/2012 03:20:48 am

Tom, I really enjoyed reading about all the swell dates with the family gang. That was an inspired idea, going one-on-one with each of them. Good idea!
Enjoy every day as The Missioner, Tom! Man, maybe you can help start a private business for some Africans, so that others can have the opportunity to work towards, build, and enjoy their own prosperous futures, like we have here in America.

Reply



Leave a Reply.