On Sunday evening I departed Toledo to meet up with my younger brother Joe (18) in South Bend. Joe is beginning his freshman year at Notre Dame studying Science/Business with the plan of Medical School in the future. Although I was bummed that he did not continue on the Kelly Boys tradition at Marquette, I was very excited for him to pave his own path at ND.

When I arrived Joe showed me around his dorm (Carroll Hall). I met his three roommates who were all nice guys, and met several of his other friends on the floor. We hung out and chatted for a couple hours in his room, and eventually went down to the chapel for 10pm Mass. After Mass we went to Reckers for a smoothie, and walked around the campus for a bit despite the rain. We ended up back at Carroll and went to bed; Joe had a busy day Monday with back-to-back-to-back classes beginning at 8:30 AM, and I had a busy day of traveling to St. Louis to visit my grandparents.

Though a short visit, it was nice to spend a few hours with Joe. He was feeling pretty overwhelmed with everything the first week of college brought, as many of us I'm sure have experienced. He realized how fast the classes move and how much material they cover, especially in Chemistry and Calculus. I told him to take everything one day at a time, and enjoy his college days (he was already a few days ahead in all of his classes, a position unfamiliar to me over 4 years at MU). College is completed best by finding balance between schoolwork, hanging out with friends, and sleep, even though there is not enough time in the day accomplish all three fully. Even though the work is important, it is just as important to make sure "the best 4 years of your life" don't pass you by.  As rocker Tom Petty said, "The work never ends, but college does..."




Leave a Reply.