Sunday came as the day to take out the baby of the family, Anna (6). She got really excited earlier in the week when I told her about the dates, and knew right away that she wanted to go Putt-Putting. She remained patient throughout the entire week as her siblings had their fun nights, and finally her day came. Onward to the greens!

We arrived at the Putt-Putt course and selected our balls. Anna picked the purple one, and let me know she always picks purple. I went with the bright green. After a few putts on the practice green, we went on to the first hole. Anna got off to an early two-stroke lead, but I was determined not to let my six-year-old sister beat me. With help from a hole-in-one on the 8th and the heat and fatigue catching up to Anna, I was able to storm back for the win. "Its really hot out... can we get ice cream?" Anna said with a sigh as she dragged her club back to the clubhouse. We grabbed a few frozen treats on our way out and headed home.

My date with Anna was the one that I was looking forward to most, mainly because we have not spent much one-on-one time together (she was 2 when I went away to college). However, on our date she asked, "Tom. Do you remember when we did that big puzzle together?" Over Christmas break a few years back, Anna and I spent several hours together and completed a 1000-piece jigsaw puzzle. It brought a big smile to my face that she remembered completing the puzzle with me, and while in South Sudan, I’ll be glad to know she remembers her big brother.



Leave a Reply.