Friday after school, Bob (12) and I went Go-Karting for our adventure. Upon arrival, the man at the counter informed us that Robert was still a "Rookie" wasn't tall enough to drive the "Big Karts," which meant we had to go separately. Not willing to concede without a fight, I asked if Robert could be measured. Bob walked up to the 58" measuring stick on the wall, stretched out his neck, and was above the line by literally 1/8 of an inch. With the congratulations of the man behind the counter, we were off to the track.

I let Robert take the pole position in the Green #15 car, while I was on his tail in the Green #18. After the first lap, with Bob extending the gap, I knew I had no shot of catching him. I'm not sure if it was because I had a slower Kart or Bob was a much superior driver, but as we continued to go around the track Bob continued to pull away. After several laps, he noticed that he had a clear lead and began toying with me, by slowing down on the straightaways and then gassing it on the turns. On the final lap, he got a bit too cocky. On turn 1 he let me get too close, and I proceeded to spin him out despite the strict "No Bumping" rules. I stormed into the lead and held it down the final straightaway, and began to slow down as instructed to enter Pit Lane. Bob however, still angry about the earlier paint swap, gunned it and bumped into me and into first, garnering a yell from the employees to "Slow Down." Getting out with smiles on our faces, it was clear that we had a fun day on the pavement. We finished off with a couple cold Slush Puppies and headed home.

P.S.- While Robert technically finished first, I received word from the race officials later in the day that he was disqualified for his antics. Better luck next time Bob!




Leave a Reply.