Thursday evening I took my oldest sister Elaine (14) out on date three. We went to Charlie's Homemade Ice Cream & Edibles, a local place in Sylvania, OH. Elaine opted for the classic cheeseburger with just ketchup, and I went with the 4-Way (spaghetti, chili, cheese, and onions), which reminded me of my Real Chili days at Marquette :). While sitting at the table waiting for our food, the first question Elaine asks is, "Are you going to get your hair cut before you leave. You're going to be really hot in Africa with long hair." We will see Elaine. We will see.

Once the food came, we continued to talk about my trip to Africa. Elaine thought it would be pretty cool to travel halfway around the world to a new country, although she thought a couple weeks would be long enough. Maybe someday a year will be more appealing... I think she might be a future missionary. But first things first - she just started high school at Notre Dame Academy. We chatted about her first days there, and she really loves it. She enjoys all her classes, meeting new friends, and finally being treated as a young adult. She’s also excited to join the photography club.

After dinner we finished with ice cream. Elaine got Chocolate Almond in a cone, and ended up getting more on her face than in her mouth. I went the safe route and got Peaches n' Cream in a cup. Overall it was a great evening with my little (though growing up fast) sis.



Leave a Reply.