The second date, or should I say "Manly Excursion," was with Dillon (16).  Wednesday was going to be the only day that worked for him since he had a busy upcoming weekend. In the morning before he left for school, I asked what he wanted to do. He said he would think about it during the day, and I had high expectations he was going to spend all day thinking of a great place for some brotherly bonding.  So when I picked him up from school, I was a little disappointed (only kidding) when I asked where he wanted to go, and his response was, "I don't know. Maybe somewhere to eat, like Steak and Shake."

In the car I asked him how his day went, and he proceeded to tell me that when I sent him a text in the afternoon making sure that we were still on, he accidentally turned on his phone alarm and got in trouble. Whoops! (not off to a hot start). I quickly changed the subject about what his plans were for the weekend. We arrived at Steak and Shake, and ordered burgers and shakes. Dillon went with the Mint Cookies and Cream and I got the Nutter Butter.

Since he is a junior at St. Johns, I asked him about what colleges he is starting to look at (Marquette, Notre Dame, Steubenville, Dayton, Xavier, and Loyola), and what he is interested in studying (Theology or Finance; couldn't be more different, I know). Some advice I gave him is to study something that he is interested in. Classes and the work are much more enjoyable when you like what you are doing. We also chatted about what it is going to be like for him to be the oldest home.  His situation is similar to mine six years ago, having our closest older brother go away to college and being on our own at SJJ. I reassured him that it was a good time for personal growth and maturation.

After we got done at Steak and Shake, I dropped Dillon off at the local supermarket to turn in a job application, only to realize that the hiring manager was not going to be in until Friday. Welcome to the real world Dillon! Although Dillon did not do any flips or tell me any cute stories, we still had a good time chatting and spending a few hours together.




Leave a Reply.